Historic Rifle Collecting/Target Shooting FAC application

Pre 1945 action rifles. Muzzle loading.

Moderator: dromia

Alberto
Home club or Range: VPRC

Historic Rifle Collecting/Target Shooting FAC application

#1 Post by Alberto »

Hi all,

I'm getting quite far down my probation now and I'll hopefully be putting in for my FAC soon, so I'm thinking about what to ask for. I'm leaning towards historic service rifles and I'm wondering what people's experiences are of this as a reason for ownership.

Can I say I'm interested in WW2 and early cold war service rifles and ask for slots to own a few for Collecting/Target Shooting/Recreational shooting? I might want to have a go at the Historic Service Rifle comps once I've got some experience but I expect it will be mostly just for fun. Could I ask to get a Mosin (7.62x54r), a Mauser (7.92x57) and an Enfield(.303) as a starter? I'd be shooting them at Bisley for the most part I expect. I'd also put down some .22LRs for practice and local Gallery shooting on Club nights? Would I later be able to apply for variations for more? Assuming I had room to safely store them. I'm thinking perhaps a K31 or a 7.62 Nato converted Mauser? What about variations within a Calibre or rifle type? Can I say I want a Mosin 91/30 and an M44? Can I say I want a Polish and Soviet M44? I'm guessing that ammunition limits would be less for this type of collecting than for pure target shooting. Is ammunition always per gun rather than ammo calibre? Any suggestions on how to go about this?

Thanks.
"I am not ashamed to confess that I am ignorant of what I do not know." - Marcus Tullius Cicero
Rockhopper

Re: Historic Rifle Collecting/Target Shooting FAC applicatio

#2 Post by Rockhopper »

You don't need to say why you want them - just put down "target shooting at whatever club plus any other home office approved range".

My initial grant was 2 x .303 plus 1 x 7.62 and 1 x .22rf plus a .38 gallery rifle which i later swapped for another .22