Shooting Tips

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

HALODIN

Shooting Tips

#1 Post by HALODIN »

Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere here, but I did have a look and couldn't find anything. Anyway... I've been shooting for about 9 months now and I seem to have hit a wall with improving my accuracy and on my quest for answers I discovered what is quite probably the most common shooting error that I'd never heard of, "canting." It got me wondering if there were any others out there. I'm not after the really obvious stuff, but is there anything else that might help reduce [shooter|gun] induced errors?

I have to say this is an excellent article if you're interested in the mechanics of canting.

http://www.riflescopelevel.com/cant_errors.html
whoowhoop

Re: Shooting Tips

#2 Post by whoowhoop »

One that springs to mind is not following through.
I think more common in live quarry shooting than target, but equally a problem in both rifle and shotgun.
It is caused by lifting the head to see if the target is hit, rather than keeping the head still.
Generally a lack of confidence in the shooters ability.
Very difficult to cure.
Well, for me, anyway.
AL8

#3 Post by AL8 »

When using a gun on a moving target, the gun should keep moving forward as the trigger is pulled otherwise you will miss behind.Its something I have trouble with sometimes as I shoot shotguns and rifles.
The cure is plenty of practice. Use a corner or object indoors(nothing living), and mount the gun and swing through it. As you get to the corner pull the trigger but keep the gun moving. It then becomes second nature
dromia
Site Admin