Going for my Black Powder Licence

Anything muzzle loading in here. Old and new, rifles, shotguns, pistols and even cannons!

Moderator: dromia

Joe Pugh
Home club or Range: Merthyr Clay shooting, Work at South Wales 2000 Clay ground

Going for my Black Powder Licence

#1 Post by Joe Pugh »

Hi all,
My shotgun certificate is due for renewal so while I'm doing that I though I should apply for my explosives certificate.

Having filled out the forms I chose to start off with a limit of 1KG of black powder. That should be enough to start shouldn't it?
As I am new to this any advice or tips would be great. I'm not sending it off for another few days anyway.

As I'm doing this I'm also looking at a choice of guns I should be buying.
I was thinking about the 1861 springfield or 1853 Enfiled so a percussion gun. Are there any guns to avoid buying or any that stand out as beeing fantastic? Again I'm open to all sorts of ideas but just looking to see what people would of done if they started again from scratch.

Thanks
Joe
Miroku MK38 12G
Browning Maxus 12G
Ruger 10/22 .22
Marlin 1894 .44
Savage model 24 .22/.410
Lee Enfield SMLE 1918 .303
Mauser Gew 98 1916 7.92x57
Springfield 1903 1928 30-06
Mosin Nagant 91/30 1929 7.62x54R
Lost count now
Ovenpaa
Site Supporter Since 2015

Re: Going for my Black Powder Licence

#2 Post by Ovenpaa »

I would say ask for 2 or even 5kgs, it is a maximum holding and I have a feeling they will just issue 15kgs anyway. You will need a box to keep the BP, you can buy them or make them and drawings/dimensions are on the internet.
/d

Du lytter aldrig til de ord jeg siger. Du ser mig kun for det tøj jeg har paa ...

Shed Journal
Dark Skies
Home club or Range: NRA

#3 Post by Dark Skies »

Do the police come and inspect the storage box prior to issuing the licence?

Also, I'm curious about the bit on the application form regarding destruction of unused powder - is burning it out in the open in small batches considered acceptable?