Loading blackpowder and substitutes?

Anything muzzle loading in here. Old and new, rifles, shotguns, pistols and even cannons!

Moderator: dromia

The Lord Flashheart
Past Supporter
Home club or Range: Ham & Pea

Loading blackpowder and substitutes?

#1 Post by The Lord Flashheart »

I am new to this so bear with me and give reasons for your contentions where possible.

I understand that black powder is measured volumetrically for loading, which makes contextual sense given the accuracy of volumetric measurement in the field versus weight measurement with 19th century technology.

This has carried on to modern Bp and substitute loading, it seems for that reason and no other?

Secondly there seems to be some controversy over whether 777 load data is a range or whether it is an either/or situation.

I confess I can see no reason in logic, science or superstition for it not being a range but does anyone know the answer?
Dark Skies
Home club or Range: NRA

Re: Loading blackpowder and substitutes?

#2 Post by Dark Skies »

I tried looking up some info on the Hodgdon website regarding Triple 7G and loads but their site is a hot mess to navigate. I've emailed them for a link. I ought to get a response from someone and when I do I'll put this very question to them. Who better to ask? Of course, being risk averse as the Americans are, I might not get a proper response to the latter.
"I don't like my job and I don't think I'm gonna go anymore."
The Lord Flashheart
Past Supporter

#3 Post by The Lord Flashheart »

Ok,

I've just rung Mike at Hogdon, he's told me that "of course it's a range" and has promised to put something in writing for me by email.

I will post it up when I have it.

Why is powder still measured volumetrically though?
Dark Skies

#4 Post by Dark Skies »

The Lord Flashheart wrote: Why is powder still measured volumetrically though?