Clarification please for new C&B from the learned....

Anything muzzle loading in here. Old and new, rifles, shotguns, pistols and even cannons!

Moderator: dromia

jimbo303

Clarification please for new C&B from the learned....

#1 Post by jimbo303 »

Dear All,

I am an experienced shooter at both TR and Classic Service Rifle and have embarked on a journey into the world of ML Revolver - it is a line of shooting I have always wanted to get in to and now for all manner of reasons the time is right.

Variation confirmed, revolver identified and secured and just in the process of identifying the other items that will be required. I must add at this point I will be initially using Pyrodex P just to get started and may well go down the traditional BP route in time. I will also add that I have some experienced mentors for this journey so I am coached correctly.

I am getting an Uberti 1860 Army.

I have been looking at the Pedersoli tubular flasks which throw a 24gr(volume) with the standard spout. I spoke to a Gun Shop yesterday to ascertin the standard size spout the flask came with, and was told quite frankly that using Pyrodex with a 24 gr throw would take my fingers off as the chamber would explode ! I was somewhat surprised as the product is designed to be a 1:1 substitute by volume for BP. The load data for the Uberti 44 ranges between 22 and 30 gr by volume I understand. When I mentioned that his statement seemed odd especially in light of the fact that Pyrodex also sell the 30gr pellets for the 44 - he didnt appear to know anything about it and told me I was totally wrong, and then maybe call back when a colleague was in who knew more. (This is a well known outfit btw). I have to say that I will be ordering any required consumables from other sources now and the sole reason I called them was that I believed I would get some sound advice.