Parting off problems

If you are making it or modifying it, repairing it or restoring it, it goes in here.

Moderator: dromia

Alpha1
Site Supporter Since 2020

Parting off problems

#1 Post by Alpha1 »

I have never had much success parting off on the Lathe. I failed miserably trying to part off a piece of 2 1/2" inch stainless 303. The piece is 4" long and I wanted to cut a 1" piece of it. I gave up and grabbed the hack saw after a couple of minutes swearing and huffing and puffing. I flung the hack saw. Right that's it I bellowed. I jumped in the car and headed off to my local machine mart.
I bought one of these after reading the reviews. Apparently it's a good piece of kit. Hopefully, the hack saws gone forever. I just need to find somewhere to put it then I can crack on.
clark 1.jpg
FredB
Site Supporter Since 2019
Home club or Range: stourport

Re: Parting off problems

#2 Post by FredB »

I have some experience of the Machine Mart saw and they work well---but they take up a fair bit of space. A lor of people have a 9" angle grinder--when you need one, there is no substitute but the need does not arise too often. I mounted mine on a short pice of RSJ in a home made pivoting holder, together with an old machine vise. The whole thing is on industrial castors and slided away into a corner. Cutting bar, angle iron and so on is now easy. Just slide it out, clamp up the workpiece, plug it in and away you go. It cuts quicker than the machine mart saw.
Fred
Alpha1

#3 Post by Alpha1 »