Buying a Swedish Military Mauser

Pre 1945 action rifles. Muzzle loading.

Moderator: dromia

Ovenpaa
Site Supporter Since 2015

Buying a Swedish Military Mauser

#1 Post by Ovenpaa »

One rifle I have never owned is the Swedish Mauser, come to think of it we have not even had one in via any customers so other than shooting an M41B I have very little knowledge of them so I need to change things and am considering finding a rifle for myself.

My initial thought was a Carl Gustav M1896 however there are also the Husqvarna offerings plus the M38 plus the German built models to consider, so my question is what would be a good starter Swedish Mauser and why? It will be used for target work to 600m and I prefer older as opposed to newer rifles in general.

Anything to look out for avoid?
/d

Du lytter aldrig til de ord jeg siger. Du ser mig kun for det tøj jeg har paa ...

Shed Journal
dromia
Site Admin
Home club or Range: The Highlands of Scotland. Cycling Proficiency 1964. Felton & District rifle club. Teesdale Pistol and Rifle club.

Re: Buying a Swedish Military Mauser

#2 Post by dromia »

They are all potentially fine rifles, as always condition is everything. The nice ones seem to be in short supply nowadays and they attract a premium price.

Bore condition is critical for accuracy so give any prospective purchase a good inspection, matching receivers and bolt numbers are also important. Ignore the stock disc information as even if it could be provenanced to the rifle that numbers would be wildly out of date.

I used to prefer the M96 long rifles but as I get older the M38s are coming out more so that would be my choice although the do seem to be a bit scarcer to buy than the 96s.

Come on Bambi get some

Imperial Good Metric Bad
Analogue Good Digital Bad

Fecking stones

Real farmers don't need subsidies

Cow's farts matter!

For fine firearms and requisites visit

http://www.pukkabundhooks.com/
Robert303