Accuracy Node Calculator - is there a free one somewhere ?

Anything shooting related including law and procedure questions.

Moderator: dromia

Forum rules
Should your post be in Grumpy Old Men? This area is for general shooting related posts only please.
Born Again
Home club or Range: Penrhiwpal SC

Accuracy Node Calculator - is there a free one somewhere ?

#1 Post by Born Again »

I will soon be trying to work up a .308 load using bullets around 150 - 155gn, in an attempt to improve accuracy over my usual 168SMK at 700yds+ . I have never used an accuracy node calculator before, I'm wondering if it might save some time.

Is there one online somewhere ? Is it even worth trying ?

Any advice appreciated.
Ovenpaa
Site Supporter Since 2015

Re: Accuracy Node Calculator - is there a free one somewhere

#2 Post by Ovenpaa »

The 168SMK is not particularly great once you get out beyond 600-700 and I have not come across an accuracy node calculator so would be interested to see one.
/d

Du lytter aldrig til de ord jeg siger. Du ser mig kun for det tøj jeg har paa ...

Shed Journal
Born Again

#3 Post by Born Again »

Ovenpaa wrote:The 168SMK is not particularly great once you get out beyond 600-700 and I have not come across an accuracy node calculator so would be interested to see one.

I haven't seen or used one either, but given my infrequent access to long range I'm hoping to gain a few clues to help work up a good load. In truth, I have a feeling there is no substitute for conventional development, but I'm open to new ideas.
Ovenpaa

#4 Post by Ovenpaa »

My 'GoTo' loads for many years have been Lapua brass, Scenar 155 projectiles Fed210M primers and N140 or alternatively 170LB projectiles and N540 (Rifle dependant) They work to great effect outside of F/TR type meetings. Accuracy comes with load development, shooting style, wind reading and a generous helping of luck :)