Benchrest and F Class gun handling

Anything shooting related including law and procedure questions.

Moderator: dromia

Forum rules
Should your post be in Grumpy Old Men? This area is for general shooting related posts only please.
woody_rod

Benchrest and F Class gun handling

#1 Post by woody_rod »

I see there are a few f classers on this forum, and no doubt some that shoot benchrest as well. I have been shooting f class on and off now for a couple of years, and have come to a point where I want to go further with my shooting, scores etc. Funny how people that know I make rifles for a living, somehow expect it makes me an instant good shooter as well. Obviously, these are two different things.

Knowing the rifle I am using does shoot very well, I still have issues with some underlying gun handling or something that is giving me problems with elevation. This has been with me consitently through shooting in F Class since starting in the discipline.

Ok, so how do I improve on this, but in a measured way in order to know how to measure the improvement? Being an engineer type, I have to be able to measure things :D

One thing is that I use my F std rifle as a basis for the f open one, having he same trigger pull to save time. This means a 1kg trigger pull, which is likely part of the problem.

It is annoying to read conditions well enough to stay inside the width of the 6 ring, yet to have high and low shots losing points!!

If it is gun handling, which is likely, what practice or method should I use for better elevation?

Some options I can think of, and to get some feedback on: I have an Anschutz smallbore rifle, which can be modified easily to shoot over the same rests etc as the F open rifle (add 3 inch wide flat plate and scope etc, will this help at say 50 or 100 yards? I know it will be a lot cheaper than the f open rifle, and save the barrel. If shooting on the ISSF 50m target, this should show any positional or handling issues?
Actionclear