RPA vs PH sights ?

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

Starfishprime
Home club or Range: Tess Valley Target Sports

RPA vs PH sights ?

#1 Post by Starfishprime »

Hi
I am new to FB shooting but reasonably experienced at .22 precision. I recently bought a very nice Parker Hale 1200TX (.308) fitted with PH 5B sights for fullbore TR.

The p.h.. rearsight has a compact iris disc ( 5 or 6 fixed holes). I have tried fitting a Gehmann adjustable iris but it gets in the way of the bolt handle. On top of that I happen to have a nice 22mm adjustable foresight to replace the 18mm however this would throw out the PH precalibrated rearsight which has approx distances marked on it 300, 600yrd etc.

I could remove the ph rearsight and fit an RPA. Is there any merit, in your opinions to fitting RPA or similar rearsight?

Should I go the whole hog and fit ladder foresight or would I be then heading down a similar route to 'spoilers and Go Faster stripes on a Lada'

Thanks

ian
johngarnett
Site Supporter Since 2015
Home club or Range: Cornwall RC @ Millpool; Duchy Shooting Assn @ Zelah

Re: RPA vs PH sights ?

#2 Post by johngarnett »

Ian
May I suggest you just shoot it as it is for a while. It is a good rifle but if you really get into fullbore TR you may find you want to get an upgrade and then spend your hard earned cash.