RFD or Private purchase?

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

Topic22

RFD or Private purchase?

#1 Post by Topic22 »

I'm very new to the sport but joined a club and completed the training course, became a full member and recently applied for a FAC.

Training involved handling and shooting a number of rifles but mainly .22lr, specifically bolt action Rugers and CZ's.

The advice I'm getting once the FAC is through is to buy a "decent" bolt action .22lr, put enough ammunition of different brands through it to see what works best and focus on improving my technique over 25 and 50 metres.

Having read endless reviews and forum threads about different rifles it's less the make of rifle I'm concerned about (preference at present is a CZ 452, 453 or 455) but where I buy it.

Would I do better to purchase from a RFD on the basis I may be paying more but am likely to get better advice regarding, say, appropriate scopes and are there particular problems I should be aware of in buying privately?

As you might expect, a couple of club members have rifles they would be happy to sell but I'm not convinced a .22lr Tactical is the best place for me to start!

Any pointers much appreciated.
Rockhopper

Re: RFD or Private purchase?

#2 Post by Rockhopper »

What discipline do you want to shoot? I'm guessing bench rest given the rifles you are talking about? Do you want to be competitive or to just plink?
Does bunny bashing figure in your plans?
Ovenpaa
Site Supporter Since 2015

#3 Post by Ovenpaa »