My first centrefire rifle!

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

Kungfugerbil
Past Supporter

My first centrefire rifle!

#1 Post by Kungfugerbil »

Morning all,

I recently had a new slot granted for a .308 Rifle that I will use for informal 100/300yd and occasional 600yd target shooting. I’ve shot for a while but only really smallbore - this is my first fullbore Rifle. I no longer feel like a fraud on this forum lol

As I’m new to the discipline I didn’t want to spend loads - the ‘all the gear no idea’ thing doesn’t appeal to me. I kept an eye on the usual gun trader type sites and last week spotted a Howa Varmint barreled action for a modest price - the same one that Triffid pointed out later on my ‘wanted’ post. I jumped on that as it was only £275 and having received it is basically new.

While I was waiting for that to be sent over, a scan of eBay found a Boyds laminate stock for £130 and a trawl of Opticswarehouse brought an ex demo Bushnell Elite 10x40 mildot scope for £150 and Burris signature rings for £80. The rings were the only new component but everything else looks pretty much unused.

All in it’s cost me less than £650 for an essentially new scoped Rifle with 24” heavy barrel:

Haven’t tested it yet but will report back once I do. I’m delighted. The trigger may need to be lightened but I’m not touching anything until I’ve test fired it.
Ovenpaa
Site Supporter Since 2015

Re: My first centrefire rifle!

#2 Post by Ovenpaa »

The Howa 1500 is superb and you should have many years of fun with this rifle.

Enjoy :good:
/d

Du lytter aldrig til de ord jeg siger. Du ser mig kun for det tøj jeg har paa ...

Shed Journal
Les
Site Supporter Since 2015
Home club or Range: WRPC