Starting Out - Total Novice

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

WayneWise
Home club or Range: N/A would like to find one!

Starting Out - Total Novice

#1 Post by WayneWise »

Hi All

I hope you can help, my son and were purchased a groupon voucher for Bisley for Christmas and we are now hooked on rifles!! We had an hour and half of shooting live ammo (.22 I believe)

We are looking to get into it as we have well and truly been bitten, oroblem being I have no knowledge what so ever any????

Where do I start? Do I need a licence to fire at ranges, where and how do I purchase guns, can my son get involved (he is 15) Just don't know where to start.

If anyone can help I would be forver grateful, finally found something to get him off his xbox!!!

Thanks in advance
MotorRacingBruce1980
Home club or Range: 5th Sussex Home Guard Rifle Club Worthing, Ford/Yapton, Fittleworth, Bisley

Re: Starting Out - Total Novice

#2 Post by MotorRacingBruce1980 »

First thing I would suggest is find your local range.

Where are you based? A few members will probably be able to advise of your local range if you don't know where it is.

You don't need a licence if your a member at a range that has club guns but you will need a licence to purchase a gun of your own.
Anschutz Supermatch54, CZ452 LTH, Savage 16 FCSS 223, Ruger No1 243,
Enfield No4 Mk1/2 303, Mauser M18 308, Martini Henry Mk3 577/450, Chiappa 1892 357mag, Franchi Affin 12g, Miroku Mk38 GD5 Trap 12g, Ugartechea BLE SxS 12g, BSA R10 22, Webley Alecto 177
Site Supporter Since 2015

#3 Post by 1066 »