First FAC application - what can I ask for?

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

twotonealex
Home club or Range: Bisley

First FAC application - what can I ask for?

#1 Post by twotonealex »

Evening all,

I'm a relatively novice shooter in the grand scheme but have been shooting on and off for the past 2 years. I was due to be at the 6 month probation point of a club I am part of at Bisley but due to COVID, my final attendance before my anticipated successful full membership has been delayed due to COVID but hopefully will be possible soon.

Whilst waiting, I'm planning my FAC application with Avon & Somerset for as soon as I'm a full member, but I'm unsure what I can ask for.

I've done a fair bit of .22 shooting, as well as .357/.38 lever action in gallery. My main enjoyment comes from the longer range stuff (not gallery!), I've used .556, .303 & .762 bolt actions, the latter have been normal Enfields and converted target rifles.

I would like to continue doing this mix of disciplines and also have a go at some practical stuff too.

I'm relatively well read on Enfields and have developed quite a thing for them!

I've got a new 6 gun cabinet ready to go, so I'd like to plan the purchase of up to 6 rifles (obviously not in one go!).

My ideal list is:

- .22 AR style, either a 15-22, Tippman or Lantac
- .22 TBC
- .357/38 Lever
- .303 Enfield (exact model tbc
- .303 No.5 MK1
- .762 Enfield Enforcer

Is this amount and 'flavour' of slots realistic for a first FAC application?
I work with the military as a civilian (MOD), would this help my application?
Im planning on joining LERA also so this may help the cause.

Any other tips or advice would be massively appreciated.

Thanks!