Parker Hale or Musgrave for a first full bore target rifle.

Anything Fullbore rifle related, Hunting, Target, Match.

Moderator: dromia

acormack
Home club or Range: Pentland Rifle Club

Parker Hale or Musgrave for a first full bore target rifle.

#1 Post by acormack »

Evening everyone

I am going to put a variation in for a full bore target rifle and wondered what everyone's thoughts are on a beginners first full bore target rifle? I've been shooting small bore for a few years now and fancy having a go at the longer range stuff. I see a few Parker Hales and Musgraves at reasonable prices, should they be avoided or are they all that's needed for cheap practice until the scores start improving?

I know everyone will say buy a good rifle for a first gun but I've just spent quite a bit upgrading to an alloy stocked .22 so that's not going to happen anytime soon, her indoors will kick me out the house if I do lol.

I'll go for a 308 but has anyone dealt with Inverness and are they flexible with 308 or 7.62 x 51 on my FAC? I notice Fultons of Bisley list their rifles as 308/7.62 and is this the way to go for a variation?

Any advice would be gratefully received, send me a pm if need be.

Thanks in advance
Alan
Pete
Past Supporter
Home club or Range: NRA Bisley

Re: Parker Hale or Musgrave for a first full bore target rif

#2 Post by Pete »

Musgrave, and put 308/7.62 on your application.............

Pete
"Tantum religio potuit suadere malorum" Lucretius
You're offended? Please explain why your inability to control your emotions translates into me having to censor my opinions....
acormack

#3 Post by acormack »

Cheers Pete, those were my thoughts as well.
Pippin89
Home club or Range: Chichester Rifle and Pistol Club

#4 Post by Pippin89 »

From memory Parker Hale and Musgrave both use Mauser actions (someone correct me if I am wrong) so if that's the case the real difference will be the stock.
Pete
Past Supporter

#5 Post by Pete »