Is this a good value starter gun package?

All things shotgun related.

Moderator: dromia

maclrc
Home club or Range: AGL

Is this a good value starter gun package?

#1 Post by maclrc »

Hi All,

I'm new to shooting and my local ground offers the following starter package for £1,845. I've added some rough stand-alone pricing in brackets from what I have seen online (I've been conservative with prices I think):

Choice of Silver Pigeon Grade 1 or b525 Grade 1 (new - I would go with whichever has the best fit as both should work well for my usage of mostly clays with the occasional game shoot)
One years membership (Usually £195 including 1 lesson, but I'm not sure if you get the lesson in the package, sp potentially worth £100 or so)
GMK skeet vest (c.£50)
Bisley cleaning kit (c£50)
GMK navy blue cartridge box, to hold 125 cartridges (c.£30)
Own branded black canvas gun slip (c£80)
Peltor Bulls Eye ear defenders (c.£20)
Own brand clear safety glasses (c.£20)
3 shooting lessons (worth £195)

This looks to be a pretty good deal, essentially getting a new SP or 525 for £1300 or less, depending on how you value the other components. This would seem to make this an attractive option compared to buying a s/h gun (the other option I am considering).

Am I missing something? Any advice much appreciated before I part with my cash.

Thanks
Kungfugerbil

Re: Is this a good value starter gun package?

#2 Post by Kungfugerbil »

Personally I wouldn’t for the following reasons:

* You may not get along with the instructor(s) or it may not be particularly good quality instruction. Committing to everything from them kind of leaves you no other options.
* The kit supplied may not suit you or you may want to splash out more (eg active ear muffs, better vest etc) in which case the supplied stuff would be dead money
* I can’t imagine why anyone needs a cartridge box, and an own brand slip is never 80 quids worth!