Australian International Arms 7.62x39

Anything Fullbore rifle related, Hunting, Target, Match.

Moderator: dromia

Alpha1
Site Supporter Since 2020

Australian International Arms 7.62x39

#1 Post by Alpha1 »

I have been researching these rifles for several years now it appears that they are regarded as inaccurate due to the barrel being chrome lined and the screw on flash hider.
The bore is .311 and grove diameter is .313. I have been able to shoot mine using a cast bullet using a custom mould ordered from the USA.
A gun smith re barreled one of them using a 20 inch barrel blank and got good results. All though he used a .308x39 reamer. I am not sure were you would find a .308x39 reamer.
I am thinking that the 7.62x39 would be a good swap for 300 black out. That would give you the option of using .308 bullets.
ukrifleman
Past Supporter

Re: Australian International Arms 7.62x39

#2 Post by ukrifleman »

I would be surprised if the chrome lined bore was detrimental to accuracy.

My Type 99 Arisaka has a chrome lines bore and it compares well for accuracy with my other vintage military rifles.

I seem to remember that there were reports of quality control issues with these rifles when they first appeared on the market.

ukrifleman
Alpha1

#3 Post by Alpha1 »

I am only going on what I have read. The guy gave up trying to shoot tight groups with his Australian International Arms rifle he played with it over a number of years with out success. Eventually he re barreled it using a 20" Barrel and as I said in my previous post a reamer that cut a .308 chamber not the normal .311 so I assume he used a .308 barrel blank. It was Thames Valley guns that wrote the article. Mine works but best performance is with a cast Loverin bullet and as I only normally shoot it at 25 yards I use a fast pistol powder. This year I am going to see if I can get it to work at a 100 yards.
BooBoo
Home club or Range: Various

#4 Post by BooBoo »