ear protection

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

Shpagin

ear protection

#1 Post by Shpagin »

I am new to shooting, so would value the advice of those of you with lots of experience. What sort of ear protection do you use?

I have only recently realised that electronic sets existed (when I went online), but am I right in saying that they do not protect your ears any more than passive sets? Is it simply that electronic ones let more benign sound through so that you can hear chat etc? I think when I am shooting I just want to concentrate on the shooting itself, so my inclination is to save my cash and just get passive earphones. Is that ok?

Are passive earphones all pretty much equal?
DanTheMan
Past Supporter
Home club or Range: Weybridge

Re: ear protection

#2 Post by DanTheMan »

Shpagin wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 5:21 pm Are passive earphones all pretty much equal?
They have dB ratings so depending on how much protection you need i.e. smallbore or fullbore you can buy quieter ones. That said a second hand set of green ex army Peltors can be had for a tenner and would do you perfectly for the first few years of shooting.
Graham M

#3 Post by Graham M »

I tend to use a set of Peltors that my son gave me from when he was working airside when he worked at Fedex. For clay shooting I use the electronic ones, that way I can hear the talking so I can hold off if something crops up.
Never argue with an idiot, he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
20series
Site Supporter Since 2019
Home club or Range: Oundle R&PC

#4 Post by 20series »

Peltor Sporttac for me,

Alan