Just starting out .. .. ..

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

EDnSKY
Home club or Range: Bolton Gun Club

Just starting out .. .. ..

#1 Post by EDnSKY »

Hi all,

I'm just starting out down the route of full bore distance shooting and would like to know if anyone can recommend good RFD's around my area. I live in Bolton and upto now have gone to Tim McAvoy for my air rifle and .22 rimmy needs.
I have got the proverbial headache reading up on all the different rifle/stock combinations and from what I've seen prices can vary too so it seems to be a case of looking around at as many rifle combinations/dealers as possible.

I seem to have settled on .308 but will it be a Remington, Tikka, Howa etc.. new or used ( I wouldn't know what to look for in a used rifle anyway!!), I just don't know.

I am busy selling off my small collection of pistols and air rifles and a digital nightsite so should hopefully have around £1500 max to spend.

So any recommendations will be well received.

regards

Bernie
Charlotte the flyer
Home club or Range: Classified

Re: Just starting out .. .. ..

#2 Post by Charlotte the flyer »

The Cheshire gun room is in Bolton and Stockport. I don't know them so can't recommend either way though.

If you have the time visit the shooting show, lots of suppliers all at one venue. It's at Stoneleigh next weekend.
The above post probably contains sarcasm or some other form of attempted wit, please don't take it to heart.
Demonic69
Home club or Range: Thurnscoe Rifle Club

#3 Post by Demonic69 »